Converting Mutable Instruments boards from Eagle to Kicad

Hello Everyone!

I have been converting Mutable Instruments Eagle board files to Kicad. The process is pretty easy and I will publish everything on Github once I am complete. I am going to fabricate some boards from the new Kicad files as a test to see if they are good.

I am going to make a Shruthi and Shruthi XT with a couple of filter boards, and then probably make rings, stages, and elements.

But I am curious if anyone has already done this. If no one has done it I’ll make sure to do a more thorough job. Otherwise if the task has already been done I won’t worry about publishing a duplicate. :slight_smile:

I just started learning about synthesizers and I am in love with these products. I am so happy Emilie has made this all open source! I started my own electronics company on Kickstarter in 2013 but failed to manage it all myself, so I am very impressed with what she has done.

Thanks!

Taylor Alexander (they/them) from reboot.love

3 Likes

This is a grand idea. I’m unaware of any existing attempt to do this, but you may try asking on the wiggler forum as well as here.

1 Like

Good tip, thank you!

Recently I built a Shruthi from scratch using my Kicad conversion files. It works great! So I am working on a How-To video for the kicad conversion process, and I will be releasing the open source files with the video soon. I will update when that is up but I did post some of my footage in a tweet here if anyone wants to see it:

2 Likes

Don’t they have Edif anymore? :0)

I’m not aware of that. I’ve used this set of scripts. It seems there is no (other) easy way to do it.

I see. Edif is for netlists only. This github project does more, with less certainty. And a lot of caveats.

Fwiw, U used to do netlist conversion with emacs keyboard macros. You can recreate the PCB stack up by hand. It’s not a lot of work that can’t be hand entered again. Copying the layout of this size is manageable.