Compiling firmware for the Anushri?

I assembled an Anushri from the PCBs and sourced my own components, and due to my being relatively unfamiliar with microcontrollers and synthesizers (I’m new to both!), I have no clue how to compile the firmware into a .hex to be burned onto the 328p. I have Linux or Windows available at my disposal, anyone able to hold my hand, a.k.a. give me a list of Linux commands for the process? I have no clue where to begin, aside from using wget on the Anushri’s github page.

Anushri hex file is here For programming, search online for an avrdude tutorial - adafruit has one.

Do I install the bootloader and the firmware, or just the firmware, and do I need to set any of the fuses before I burn either? Help is greatly appreciated!

You can install this bootloader too if you plan to do upgrades by MIDI later. The fuses are:

LFUSE = ff, HFUSE = d4, EFUSE = fd, LOCK = 2f

Hmmm, can the bootloader for the Shruthi be omitted if MIDI upgrades aren’t required, and will that leave a bit more space for (customised) program code? The compiled bootloader looks to be about 2800 bytes. Obviously the bootloader is essential if an ISP programmer is not available, but you need one to omit it.

This would free 1024 bytes. Don’t forget to change the fuses so that the new split between program/bootloader code is taken into account.

OK, thanks! Hmmm, will need to read up a lot on AVR fuses lest I end up with bricked chips. Maybe omitting the bootloader is not such a good idea.

I find this very useful for finding the fuse settings…

@larsen: thanks, yes, I discovered that, very useful, and it works both ways. I entered the default Shruthi fuse values and it shows which bits are toggled (um, to zero, err, on - so confusing!).
Just not sure what to set to omit the bootloader reservation. There are bits for various bootloader reservation sizes, but none for zero words of bootloader. My understanding of embedded devices is currently minimal…