Colored noise exciter for Rings

I’ve seen posts in the forum mentioning colored and filtered noise as useful exciters for Rings, so I’m thinking about what would be a good noise module for Rings. (I’m also interested in noise as a sound source in general.)

Doepfer A-118/A-118-2 seems flexible but lacks CV control for the color.

SSF Quantum Rainbow 2 seems to be an appreciated noise source in general, but I’m concerned that it might not be flexible enough. I have no reason to think it wouldn’t be, though (I’m new to both modular and noise generation).

Perhaps it would be a plus not to always have to shape the noise using an external module, such as Ripples or Shelves, allowing these modules to be used elsewhere in the patch.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

Oh, and also:

My keyboard (Nord Stage 3) has two digital noise oscillators: one white noise generator, and one noise oscillator which provides a band-passed and resonant pitched noise (in the range of -11 semitones to 48 semitones, or in a sub mode).

The keyboard also has a filter section with LP M (a Moog-style filter), LP24, LP12, LP+HP, BP and HP modes, and LFO or VEL/MOD ENV.

I’m curious about how far take me, if I’m using my keyboard as an external audio source, compared with a dedicated noise module.

Thanks!

I’ve been using a Klavis Twin Waves which provides low passed noise, band passed noise and resonator noise. These have modulatable parameters for resonance, bandwidth and quality respectively.

It’s a great little module and naturally does a whole lot more than noise. I use mine quite a bit for LFO duties.

1 Like

The obvious choice for me is plaits, it just produces so many awesome exciters not only through its noise modes but basically all red modes and then most of the green ones do great stuff as well. Generally tonal sources into rings are more fun than youd maybe think.