Bypasing anushri drums improves noise specs on the analog side? Is this correct?

I adore the little yellow bugger - I really do love its rawness but Id like to use it in a little modular setup and at times its just a little too noisy. Id Like to put it behind a euro-rack faceplate too. Questions - A: How is it done. (not the faceplate the anushri mod B: What improvements (thats subjective - one mans noise is another s music) to the monosynth would I expect. C: Will it effect the cv in/outs on the anushri. IM a drummer of 20 years an while I likes it initially I never use that part so the benefits hopefully outweigh the loss of the drums.

Plug a patch cable in the “drums out” patch point. This removes the drums section (and the noise it generates at rest) from the main mix.

I’ll let you decide on answer B.

It won’t affect the other CV in/out

Thanks - I remeber you stating that if you bypass the drums you get better noise figures or something. What is the effect of doing this? I also thought it was something on the PCB? Or have I gone mad?

MAybe bypass isnt the right word. Remove them from the circuit? Not bypass them so you can get them back - I thought it was a hack on the PCB…

Found it - in the manual Note that the tone generator is quite lo-fi! Since it uses 8-bit precision with PWM conversion, the BD signal exhibits significant noise when the amplitude decreases (a Mirage or an Amiga did it, too), and the noise floor is quite high. External processing of this signal through EQ, filters or noise gates is recommended, and is facilitated by the individual drums output on the front panel.

It is worth observing that if the drum machine section is not used, Anushri’s noise floor can be significantly improved by plugging a jack into the Drums out output to take out of the mix some of the background noise coming out of the processor.

If it doenst output anything…… you won’t hear anything.

As I said: