Bricked my shruthi

Hello shruthi builders and users,

I somehow managed to brick my shruthi.

Starting with amidi -p hw:1,0 -s shruthi1_1.02.syx
I also tried versions 1.01 and 0.98 from http://mutable-instruments.net/static/firmware/
Tried the same with aplaymidi --port=20:0 -d 1 shruthi1_0.94.mid and no success.

The shruthi is only visible in sysex mode anymore (with S6 pressed) - blank screen unless S6 pressed on boot :frowning:

The last attempt sadly w/o success was to send sysex file with midiox (thru wine) using the settings recommended here: http://mutable-instruments.net/forum/discussion/comment/18006#Comment_18006

(all that on an ubuntu 14.04 system)

Is there any chance I getmy shruthi resetted with or without additional hardware?

I’m a total noobie on that field and I miss my shruthi.

a million thx in advance for help

You’ll have to try the firmware update procedure from another MIDI interface.

Which MIDI interface do you use?

aplaymidi --list
Port Client name
14:0 Midi Through
20:0 M Audio Audiophile 24/96

I’m using the 20:0 one.

The leds though blinked while running the procedure.!..?

Yes but it doesn’t tell if there is a missing packet. Which could happen, since M-audio has a long history of audio interfaces with lousy SysEx support…

The ESI MIDIMATE II is a cheap, but excellent USB MIDI interface that should do the job for you.

thanx, cool! i will try with that, running a test with midi-ox currently (MIDI-OUT->MIDI-IN).

Do you think amidi will do it too or should i stay with the midi-ox tool.

I don’t think it’s a software problem. I’ve done firmware upgrades with SysEx Librarian and Elektron’s C6.

the esi is sold out, do you think the Miditech Midilink mini will do also?

(esi has a 30-pin adapter)

(i will try the ESI Midi nTour CX - seems to have a female 30 pin - with the ipod 0pin to usb adapter)