Braids Hacking

Oliver (and anyone else with helpful advice),

I just pre-ordered a Braids from AH, and I am especially excited in learning and “hacking” with the code that went into making all of the synths that come in Braids. Thank you for releasing this as open source!

I am a relative novice to coding, but I have taken a college course in Python, am pretty familiar with MAX/MSP and have been learning SuperCollider recently.

I noticed you mention a few different ways of updating the firmware on the open source page for Braids. Would getting the FTDI Friend be sufficient for being able to change parts of the code and updating the firmware?

I’ve done a bit of DIY soldering and basic EE studying of how circuits work, and am trying to learn to code for music (I recently started reading Designing Audio Effect Plug-Ins in C++ by Will Pirkle along with Cipriani and Giri’s book Electronic Music and Sound Design which uses Max as a way of learning sound design concepts).

If you have any advice to me, as a newb, who is interested in learning how to code and maybe eventually make instruments like you have, I would be very grateful for any advice! I’m hoping Braids will be a great learning tool for me to experiment with and study, as well as, a great instrument to make music with!

Thanks!

> Would getting the FTDI Friend be sufficient for being able to change parts of the code and updating the firmware?

Yes. You can actually do that without any special hardware but it costs you 1:20 of screeching audio every time you want to try your code on the device.

An update through the FTDI dongle takes 15-20s. Through the JTAG programmer, it is only 6s.

Since it is possible to run Braids’ code on your computer, you won’t need that many “trial and error” runs on the hardware to get things to work. Once they work on your computer, the only terrible thing that could happen is that they are too CPU intensive for Braids.