Blinds. How does it work?

Hey, I’m a beginner in electronics and have been studying the Blinds schematics, and I am unable to figure out how it works! I’ve modelled parts of it using an online simulator but I am unable to see how a) an input to j1 comes out the other end and b) how the module can possibly act as a four quadrant multiplier.

I have studied Veils, and understand how the v2164 pair works there as a VCA, but I’m unable to see how a VCA can work to pass an audio signal when the audio is really working as the modulator of the VCA.

Anyone who would like to help me understand?

Hope this is in the right form (and subforum)!

Let’s say your signals are between -10V and +10V.

IN is your (bipolar) input signal (carrier).
CV is your (bipolar) cv (modulator).

Your toolkit consists of op-amps to add and subtract signals, and unipolar linear VCAs which compute V (IN, CV) = IN x CV / 10, but only for unipolar CVs (no restriction on IN though).

You want to use this to build a four-quadrant multiplier that computes IN x CV / 10 even if CV is bipolar. Let’s do a couple of algebraic manipulations…

IN x CV / 10
= IN x (CV / 10 + 1) - IN
= IN x (CV + 10) / 10 - IN
= V (IN, CV + 10) - IN

And that’s it… Shift the CV high enough to ensure that it is unipolar, and compensate by removing the input from the result.

Now let’s get to the tricky bit. Because four-quadrant-multiplication is commutative, you can swap the inputs IN and CV and get a circuit that should (in theory!) output the same thing. Indeed we have V (IN, CV + 10) - IN = V (CV, IN + 10) - CV. At least algebraically…

Blinds’ circuit computes V (CV, IN + 10) - CV, that’s why you see the audio signal going into what you’re believing is the control path of the linear VCA ; and the CV going through two branches.

So why this odd choice, of computing V (CV, IN + 10) - CV instead of V (IN, CV + 10) - IN?