Blinds Channel polarity and gain

Hello fellow MI Blinds owners,

I’m studying the uses of my new Blinds and as I know modules are made to interact I try to find the uses of a module as a start as well.

I have some trouble to understand what exactly the use is for the massive gain the first knobs on the left produce if summed.
As I hook the Blinds onto a Mordax Data to see what the CV
is doing it goes from -10 ~ +10 V which is a massive range for
CV and most of my other modules work within -5 ~ +5 V depending on the settings of the knobs. Sometimes -2.5 ~ + 2.5 V is even better.

So what’s the use of this massive range of CV? or is it used for audio?
I study the manual and it gives a formula how it adds up if nothing patched.

Can someone please explain to me how would this be useful in what kind of patch? I can’t find anything that I can use this way. I have a Batumi, Stages, Quadrax, Øchd, PNW, and a O_C to throw a massive amount of CV at it so maybe it’s time to experiment a little bit more.
Where can I find a good place to learn my Blinds inside out?
It can do so much it will take some time :rofl:

A gain of +/- 2 is not that massive – just remember to not turn the knob to the max!

Some VCAs or LPGs need a CV of 8V or 10V to fully open; so there is a use case for amplifying a 0 to 5V unipolar LFO or logic signal to these levels.

And as you correctly understood, if you’re using the modules to mix several audio sources, the extra gain could be helpful (for example, physical modelling modules like Rings or Elements can produce signals that won’t sound as loud as a solid 10Vpp sine wave coming from an analog oscillator).

1 Like

If you are anything like me your love for Blinds will grow over time. One of the things I love with modular are those “what if” moments and Blinds seems to be a module that helps make ‘what if’ ideas happen.