Before I start this project

Hi everyone,
ever since I learned about Mutable Instruments I’ve been so excited to build my own synth. This open project is so fascinating. Before I begin this adventure though, I have some questions which I hope you guys can help me with.

• is the Ambika project suited to build into my own custom case ? Can I reposition leds, buttons, knobs, screen, etc … As well as the output/midi connectors, sd card slot (although these are all on the back and can prolly stay there when fitting in a case) Won’t rewiring them to the main board cause problems like noise etc … ?

• if I source my own components, say at Mouser, based on the Mouser part numbers, do I get exactly the right components. Or could minute differences in (alternative/replacement) parts cause problems ?

• can I easily add extra controller knobs to control other synth functions. Is this option already in the code or would I need to alter it ?

• how easy is it to reprogram this synth ? I’m a coder and I know c++, I have some, but not a lot of experience with these kind of hardware projects I must admit.

• is it possible, and how difficult would it be to use a different screen to view more parameters (more lines or maybe a graphical lcd in the future) and adapt the code ?

thanx

Why dont you take a look to the Sourceode yourselves, its all in the Github Repository, Link is in the DIY Resources Section of the Instrument on the MI SIte.

If you are wondering about custom builds, check out this custom Anushri build by resident Russian Evil Genius schrab. ( Hint, for the thread, click on the word this )

And at this point I’d like to point out that the ambika shouldn’t be your first DIY synth, it’s a much better idea to get a shruthi-1 first, since you can still use it later on when you build your ambika, and you can put the coding you did on the shruthi to good use on the ambika as well :slight_smile: