Arduino as programmer/flashing firmware

I thought I might try to flash the Atmegas (Atmega664p & 328p) using Arduino as an ISP.
I’m totally new to these topics.
So before I digg into that, maybe one of the pros can tell me, if this is even possible at all.
I found a few instructions which seem to point in the right direction.
http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?topic=64612.0

Has anyone ever done that? Can it be done?

Cheers,
p

So i just read that, i guess this means a simple and plain “no”…

“The main difference between the Shruti-1 and Shruthi-1 bootloaders is that the Shruti-1 is Arduino compatible (update by serial port using the STK500 protocol), while the Shruthi-1 is not.”

Does this also apply to the Digital FX board?

There are two things here, and you must not mix them up:

• Programming the Shruthi as if it were an Arduino-compatible board, that is to say trying to hook the Shruthi to a serial <-> USB cable and expecting it to talk to the Arduino IDE.
  • Getting an Arduino board to behave like an ISP programmer, and using this to flash an AVR chip on a second board (for example a Shruthi-1 digital board).

The first one is not possible, there are too many hardware differences between the Shruthi digital board and an Arduino (starting by the crystal frequency: 16 MHz for Arduino, 20 MHz for the Shruthi), and the Arduino environment and “way of doing things” is not suitable for a project of the scope of the Shruthi.

The second one is possible indeed (you’ll have to connect the pins 10-13 of the arduino the Shruthi-1 ISP port), and your Arduino will “emulate” a genuine ISP programmer. But I don’t mess much with Arduino stuff these days and can’t help you on how to do that.

Oh, I misunderstood your statement about the Arduino compability!
Great, so I’ll try a bit more and maybe can post a solution.
Not promising anything…