Another shruti at large

First, the detailed assembly pictures, and instructions where a huge help. This is my first attempt at building a kit like this. And those instructions are great.

Ok so my little creature is almost alive. I finished soldering the components today. Got a power supply (7.5v DC 300mA) and turn it on. The good news…it turned on. Also the lcd display shows values, it receives midi, and it is generating sound, The problems that I need to troubleshoot: The control board and the main board are not friendly with each other; navigation buttons are not changing the pages (the display reads “filter”). The knobs don’t seem to be doing anything either. That’s one, two; the bottom line of the display is flickering a bunch of parameters really fast, the top line does not change. I’ll have a multimeter probably by Thursday. Is there anything to check or do without that tool? Oh and I did not install the LEDs, but I could if that is causing any of this.

I would say definitely check that your ribbon cable is properly soldered and that the colors on one board coincide with the other. In other words, make sure that the GND cable (black, on mine; it might be different for you) is attached to the GND pin on the other board and the DATA cable (brown) is attached to the GND pin on the other board, etc., etc.

If that’s alright, check your solder work on the ICs and pots on the control board.

Make sure you’ve got the IC’s on the control board in the proper orientation.

also: does the flickering go away if you unplug the control board?

It really looks like a bad connection between the two boards - the main board doesn’t receive anything on the digital input (no button presses are detected), and the analog path for the pots readings seems to be floating, so it gets random noise and all the parameters randomly float.