Ambika crashes if cyclic voice allocation is selected

The subject line says it all. After a great deal of firmware troubles (I had ended up using two different computers and two different ISP’s) Ambika seems to work quite nicely with all 6 SVF voicecards, but if I try to select cyclic voice allocation from menus, ambika stops responding (straight up frozen, no buttons work, all light stay as they were, midi trigs no notes).

Voicecard MCU’s are programmed by yours truly, the motherboard MCU is from mutable.

While I’m at it - I’m no newbie when it comes to electronics and computers, but I am little miffed over the fact that I was having so much trouble burning the firmware. First of all, the avrdude commands proivided want to set efuse to 0xFD. This will not happen, no matter what I do - verifying the fuse always returns it as 0x05, which is the same bitmask pattern concerning the lowest three bits - the only bits that actually matter. Is this normal? The 328p-pu ignores the highest 5 bits and always returns them as zero?

Second trouble was burning the firmware files themselves, especially the flash, second part. First one, ambika_voicecard.hex, goes into the chip and verifies correctly, Second one always returns verification error at the first byte (ambika_voicecard_boot.hex). EEPROM part goes in without complaints, when I use avrisp mk 2 - using tinyusbisp was much more flaky, I got verification errors all over the place, no matter what -B parameter or baud rate I tried (and yes, I tried multiple versions of avrdude, tried burning with powered hub and without it, messed with configuration files and suggested delay parameters).