Adding bootloader to working v1.02 Shruthi XT

Hi all - it’s been a while… I’ve been searching but can’t crack this:

I bought a working XT a while back (to add to the Shruthi, XT and Ambika I built myself) and it wouldn’t enter sysex update mode. From the forum it appears that whoever built it didn’t bother with the bootloader, as there are no problems with the XT itself.

So… I’ve got an AVRISPMkII, all the v1.,02 firmware Git resources, the AVR toolchain on my Mac, etc. but I’ve got one problem and one question…

(BTW, I’m no electronics engineer so pologies in advance as these will prob be numpty Qs)

Question: Can I add the bootload to the existing programmed chip juist by making/uploading the bootloader files via the AVR?

Problem: notwithstanding the above, I can’t get the AVRISPMkII to find the Atmega 644P, I’m getting the “bad AVRISPmkII connection status: Target not detected” error on AVRDude

I’ve got both green lights on the programmer (after attempted upload), I’m pretty sure it’s hooked up right (6x2 the other way around gives me the flashing amber on programmer after a few seconds) and I get same result whether I’m powering the control board via the standard 9v > filter > board, or not.

I’m ruling out a problem with the XT as it works fine under normal operation.

So I’m sure it’s user error, but I can’t learn enough about AVR flashing to figure out where the issues is…

Any advice grategully received, as ever.

Thanks, Simon

Update…

I realised that the original builder had put the AVRISP socket on the wrong side of the board. They are an @rse for doing so… I am a bigger @rse for not spotting it before posting.

So… I uploaded the bootloader usuccessfully, and then realised I had erased the chip as the upload script specified that.